Is there a colour that epitomizes summer?

Which one comes to mind? Perhaps it’s the blazing yellow of the sun painted on too many sunscreen bottles. Or maybe it’s the dark brown of sun-kissed skin. Or could it be the lush green grass that graces my yard once every seven summers when we get just enough rain to prevent the earth from baking into dust?

Well, those are all fairly close, but for me it’s the bright turqoisey blue only found on rare clear skies or tropical oceans. It screams hot weather and vacations and long, luxurious dips into refreshing pools of water.

Unfortunately this colour does not grace me in the form of food. In fact blue rarely shows up in food at all. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything that’s both naturally blue and edible. Don’t try to fool me with those “blue” berries and that weird species of potato either. Those are purple and we all know it!

So in the absence of my blue colour I turned to the help of my old friend food colouring! And set off to make some blue cookies.

Don't mind the messy kitchen!

Now I wasn’t going to share this recipe with you yet. I was going to perfect it first but somewhere between the banana-brownie ice cream I made earlier this week and the 0 comments on my blog made me think I should probably start sharing some of the stuff I’ve been doing with you. Besides, I haven’t posted anything since those kiwi muffins! By god that was ages ago!

Prebakage

Anyways, the point is that these cookies are okay but not yet perfect. Especially when it comes to the method I used… You’ll notice the holes in the center of all my cookies? Yes that was a result of an unfortunately warm kitchen and my inability to roll out cookie dough. Doing it again I would refrigerate the dough before trying to roll it out. I would also clear more kitchen space before cooking so that I didn’t have to use the top of my stove as a counter-top. (Don’t try and lie, I know you’ve done it before too.) And perhaps cut the dough a little thinner, as they were hard to chew when sandwiched together. As for the taste? I think I would decrease the amount of sugar. Since I filled them, the sugar in the cookie seemed useless and was hopelessly overpowered by the buttercream. I would also probably add some espresso powder to the chocolate part of the cookie, since I found the cookie fairly bland on it’s own….but that’s just me.

Yum

This recipe is adapted from here.

Original says 70 cookies so if we’re sandwiching them that would be 35.

Cooking time: 10-15 minutes Prep Time: at least one day total (for freezing and dethawing)

Blue Swirl Cookies

1 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)

1 1/3 cup of sugar (I would recommend decreasing to 1 cup.)

3 cups flour (plus more for rolling)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg and 2 egg yolks

3 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp cocoa

Blue food colouring

Cream butter and sugar until and fluffy. Sift flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl. Add vanilla and eggs to creamed butter and sugar beating well between each addition.  Slowly add flour mixture, leaving approximately 1 tbsp behind in the bowl and beat until combined. Divide dough into two parts. Select one part and put in a separate bowl. This will be the chocolate dough. Add cocoa and work into dough until it is dark brown. Add blue food colouring to other dough and work into dough until it is the desired colour of blue. If this part of the dough is a little sticky add the left over 1 tbsp of flour and mix. Gather the chocolate dough and wrap in plastic wrap and stick it in the fridge. Do the same with the blue dough.

Now wash some of those dishes, read a few magazines and clear off some table space for about an hour. When finished remove from fridge and plastic wrap and place on a well floured surface. (I use wax paper that’s been taped to my counter for easy cleaning and no sticking.) Also flour up a rolling pin. Roll the chocolate dough ball first to desired square or rectangle. My rectangle was a little longer than the length from my fingertips to my elbow and about half as wide. A wider width will yield a larger cookie. After trimming the chocolate dough to desired shape make the same size rectangle with the blue dough on a different counter. (I eyeballed it but you can always measure.) Then take the blue dough and place it on top of the chocolate dough. I did this by picking up the wax paper underneath the blue dough and flipping it over onto the chocolate dough.  If your wax paper was well floured it should not crumble.

Then roll the dough up into itself using the longer side. My dough was quite crumbly so in order to do this I used the wax paper underneath to fold  the dough onto itself. (Make sure to peal the wax paper off after each fold!) Then using that same wax paper cover the log of dough up and wrap it in plastic wrap. Then transfer the log to the freezer and let freeze for at least one night.

When the desire to bake the cookies gets to you put log in the fridge to thaw for a couple of hours. (I left it for 12.) Leave out at room temperature for about 5 minutes and preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice cookies thinly and place onto greased cookie sheet. Cook for about 10-15 minutes. Or until the blue colour starts to yellow/brown.

Buttercream Frosting

1/2 cup butter (unsalted)

2 cups icing sugar

2 tsp vanilla (or other flavor)

1 pinch of salt

1/2 tsp of cream

Blue food colouring

Cream sugar and butter together until no lumps remain.  Add vanilla salt and cream and mix. Finally add food colouring and mix until colour is satisfactory. Pipe or spread between 2 of the completely cooled cookies and eat! (Or at least what’s left because if you’re anything like me you’ve already consumed half the cookies before they even made it off the cutting board!)

Flowery cutting board.

