I went home this weekend for a couple of appointments I have on Monday. Being home is always fun because it means I have a nice big kitchen to play with (even though I should be studying for my last exam). The other fun thing about being home is that I get surprises. This weeks surprises started off with there being kiwis in the fridge. Kiwis! We never have kiwis! My mother told me they were a gift from a customer at work.

Kiwis and I have a love-hate relationship. I like the tastes of kiwis, I really do. The problem I have with them is that they are slippery and slimy. The only things in this world I cannot eat consist of gelatinous, slippery and slimy foods. This is the reason I can not stand jello. Pudding is okay oddly enough but kiwis cross that oh-so-subtle barrier between the syrupy body of peaches to the slimy texture of mangoes.

So knowing that my family will probably not go through a box of kiwis before they go bad I decided to look for a kiwi recipe. There isn’t much in the way of kiwi recipes. Most I found were of smoothies and really what is so challenging about plopping things into a blender? No, I needed something fun that I could slide out of the oven.

Then I found a recipe for kiwi muffins.

Mmm...muffins...

The recipe was meant for 18 reasonable sized muffins but since when have I ever been reasonable? I couldn’t find our regular muffin tin, only small ones and a ginormous one. I opted for the flower-pot sized tin. It yielded 8 delicious, monstrous kiwi muffins.

Who needs a wire cooling rack?

My apologies about the pictures too. I thought since I was at home I wouldn’t have to take any more pictures with my cellphone…unfortunately for all the 4 cameras we have in our house not a single one had a charger. Luckily the webcam on my laptop and photoshop have yielded some decent pictures to wet your appetite.

Half is probably a better serving size....

But I digress. Here is the delicious monster recipe (adapted from here.)

Makes 8 monster muffins or approximately 16 normal sized.

Monstrous Kiwi Muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tbs baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup sugar

3  – 4 kiwis, peeled and diced

2 eggs

3/4 cup melted unsalted butter or oil (I used a combination of melted shortening and butter as I had no oil)

3/4 cup milk

1 tbs lime juice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine all wet ingredients in one bowl and all dry ingredients in another. (If you are using melted shortening it may solidify when added, it’s not a problem.) When oven has heated to desired temperature mix ingredients with a spatula until just wet. Do not over mix, the batter should be a little lumpy. Spoon into greased muffin tin filling cup approximately 3/4 of the way up. Bake for about 15 minutes if making regular sized muffins and 25 minutes if making large ones. Remove from oven when an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Serve warm. Enjoy!

