Oh ice cream, you with your chunks of cookie dough, your ribbons of chocolate running over icy vanilla hills, your valleys filled with heaps of fruit and creamed vegetables…

Wait. Did you just say “vegetables”?

That’s right! Or haven’t you heard of the new rage in dessert land?

Having made rice and mashed “potatoes” out of my low carb friend cauliflower and viewing this lovely recipe for chocolate chip muffins, I thought to myself there must be a way to get my favourite vegetable into a dessert! Then I spotted my donvier jumping up and down out of the corner of my eye and knew I had the answer.

The love of my life!

After trying to work out this recipe twice I have found that it’s somewhat difficult to get this dessert as healthy as I had wanted. Originally I wanted to leave most of the cream out and half the pureed cauliflower be the main component, unfortunately it turns out cauliflower is not as subtle a flavour as I had initially thought. The first time I made this recipe I used 1 cup of cream and even after a mishap with my vanilla extract (using way WAY too much) the ice cream was surprisingly not bad (although it still can’t hold a candle to my triple chocolate brownie supreme). The second time I cut the cream back all the way to 1/4 cup and got a reasonable amount of vanilla into the mixture. It was still edible but the cauliflower taste was definitely too much for me. I wanted to try one more idea by adding a banana to the recipe but alas I have run completely out of cream.

Mmm....

Of course by now you must be thinking I’m completely off my rocker. I mean cauliflower ice cream? Believe it or not I have heard of stranger and due to the fact that the idea of savory ice cream creeps me out a little I decided to go out on a limb and try to find the sweet side of cauliflower. Although I’m sure it would make a great savory ice cream now that I think about it. But like I said, no more cream, so I guess you’ll just have to settle for this “unsavory” version. You might even say it’s fiendishly good. Ha! Get it? Unsavory, fiendish? Okay I’ll stop now.

Chocolate sauce is always a must!

Sweet Cauliflower Vanilla Ice Cream

1 cup cauliflower, chopped

1 cup cream (I’d recommend not going any lower in fat than half and half)

2 egg yolks

1/2 tsp of vanilla

1/3-1/2 cup sugar (more sugar makes it sweeter [duh!])

Put cauliflower in a sauce pan and cover with water and let boil until soft or until all the water has evaporated. Whisk egg yolks into sugar in a bowl. You can use a beater but only beat just until mixed. Put cauliflower in a blender and blend until smooth. You may need to add cream to prevent it from getting stuck on the sides. Put all ingredients (egg yolk and sugar mixture, cauliflower, vanilla and cream) into a bowl and mix together. You can also use the blender to do this if you wish. Let mixture sit in fridge until cooled. Make into ice cream according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Store in a plastic container in the freezer until ready to eat!

(Note: I did not pasteurize the egg yolks as custard and me don’t get along very well but feel free do so. I would recommend searching for instructions on google.)

Enjoy with chocolate sauce and/or marshmallows!

Does this look like a vegetable to you?

